Slow Cooker Cooking/Greek Yogurt

So, I realize I haven’t posted a blog in a few days. I have realized that no matter how much I feel like cooking, if I don’t feel like cleaning up, it isn’t happening. But today, I finally decided that I really wanted to cook today and I did not at all mind the cleaning up that would come along with it.

Today I pulled out my slow cooker. Now, I know people who absolutely hate using a slow cooker. They like to make dinner as quick as possible. They don’t seem to understand that slow cookers can be just as, if not more, convenient than dinners cooked on high heat for a short period of time. What I’ve noticed is that many slow cooker recipes require minimal prep and because you cook on low heat for a long period of time, you can set it and forget it. And the results are almost always worth it. So today, I made a recipe that I’ve used a couple of times before. I found it on a great website: sparkrecipes.com. I used a website related to this one (sparkteens.com) to help me lose weight in high school. The recipes on this website are great and they are healthy. The version of this recipe I make leans a little more towards being an unhealthy version though, but I have made it the healthy way, and it’s still delicious.

You cook cubed chicken breast in mushroom soup, taco seasoning and salsa. You cook it on low for eight hours and then right at the very end, you mix in a few tbsp of sour cream to thicken it up and then you serve it over rice. I use boneless skinless chicken breast for this recipe, so I only make this recipe about once a month since that cut of chicken tends to be a bit pricey. You could probably use other cuts of chicken too. I don’t see why that would be a problem. When I first tried this recipe, it was like a food moment. Like, the little moment you have when you taste something really amazing and you don’t know how you have lived without eating this. Yeah, that’s how good this recipe is. And it makes great leftovers too. For all who are ticked off with always cooking dry chicken: here is your solution. Guaranteed no more dry chicken. This chicken falls apart. It’s delicious. Something I also have to add about this dish: Canadian winters are long and really bloody cold. This is common knowledge. This is the kind of dish you want to eat in the middle of one of those ridiculously cold winters. It will make you forget all about how frightful the weather is outside. So, I especially recommend this recipe to those who live in places where the winters are long and terribly cold.

Now, there is another thing I want to talk about. Greek yogurt. I want you to listen very carefully: people have been lying to you about how healthy it is. Not literally. But my first thought when I tried it was that it is impossible that something SO GOOD can be so good FOR YOU. 18g of protein in a 3/4 cup serving? How is that bloody possible? And no fat. And yet it taste better than any ice cream I’ve ever had. No, I did not make the Greek yogurt I had. I know it’s relatively simple to make, but if I’m being honest, I just couldn’t be arsed to make it that day. I decided to try it when I saw it on a cooking show. He made his yogurt, and then he topped it with honey and almonds. I get that honey is sugar, pretty much, but I NEVER eat honey. Like, once every four or five months I’ll have a bit on toast. So once in awhile, honey really isn’t that bad for you. And almonds are a source of protein. And they are tasty. Bonus. So I bought the yogurt and tried it with the honey and almonds. Mind. Blown. Dessert is starting to look like a really healthy option.

I tried it a couple of days ago and well, I didn’t stop at dessert. Yesterday, I had some for lunch with honey and almonds,¬†and I thought it was great. Protein keeps you from getting hungry and I didn’t fell hungry all afternoon. And this morning, I had some for breakfast. However, I decided to put a Canadian spin on it and subbed in some pure maple syrup for honey. (Note: nothing compares to pure maple syrup. If you’ve had it once, you will never, ever buy the artificial stuff ever again. Go Canada.) Anyway, it was a great option for breakfast too. I must buy more of this stuff. It is a guilt free treat. Yes, they exist. So go try Greek yogurt. Now.

Happy cooking!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. drkaylosesweight
    May 28, 2011 @ 05:29:14

    I will have to try that crock pot recipe! Greek yogurt is the bomb!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

